Florida Car Insurance — Underage Drivers, Driving While Intoxicated, and the SR-22
People who are applying for insurance plans will have their personal circumstances, driving records, and other details thoroughly scrutinized to check whether they belong to the high risk group or not. Young motorists, for instance, are more likely to get in trouble with the law due to their inexperience. Having a previous DUI conviction and an order to obtain an SR-22 also counts as red flags. These individuals will find it tough to locate a provider which will offer them cheap car insurance FL. They need to exert extra effort to convince insurance companies that they are dependable and deserving of reduced premiums.
FL Car Insurance for Juvenile Drivers
Owning a car is an exhilarating feeling for most teens and some can get carried away while driving. States are trying to decrease accidents and traffic violations involving young drivers through a graduated licensing system. As teens get more experience on the road, their permit gets upgraded until they eventually acquire a full license. For this state, the steps include:
Graduated Driver Licensing Law Requirements Florida
|Learner’s permit||15 years old|
|Intermediate license||16 years old|
|Full licensure||18 years old|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||12 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||50hrs; at least 10hrs during nighttime|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Prohibition between 11:00PM-6:00AM during learner’s permit stage and 1:00AM-5AM during intermediate stage|
|Passenger Restrictions||No more than 1 non-family member during intermediate stage, unless accompanied by a license driver of 21 years or older|
|Cell Phone Use||Prohibition on non-emergency calls during learner’s permit and intermediate stages|
|Texting||Prohibition on non-emergency calls during learner’s permit and intermediate stages|
DUI Insurance in Florida
Try never to get caught drunk while driving as the penalties are harsh even for first time offenders. It will certainly make it more difficult to find the cheap car insurance FL drivers want, it could also lead to imprisonment of 6 months to 9 months depending on the blood alcohol level and the presence of a minor. The fine ranges between $500 and $2,000 while the license could be suspended between 180 days to a full year. The court may also order the completion of a DUI course, the installation of an ignition interlock for 6 months, community service of up to 50 hours, medical treatment, and vehicle impound.
SR-22 insurance in Florida
The SR-22 is a document that is required in rare cases in order to reacquire a driving license. Usually, those who are mandated to file for this are motorist who have been convicted of DUI, found driving without insurance papers, or proven to have caused a dangerous road accident.
Some are tempted to drive without insurance to save money but it only causes them constant stress as they can be asked to pull over and get caught at any time. Do things the right way without burning a hole in your pocket by using the quote search tool at Cheapinsuranceflorida.org. Provide your zip code and it will show you your options around town.
Save hundreds of dollars with cheap auto insurance FL!
Miami residents should click here for exclusive information on automobile insurance savings.